The Pharmaceutical Committee

The Pharmaceutical Committee is the advisory committee of the Agency.

The Committee is comprised of five persons with the broadest possible expertise in medicine and pharmaceutics. The Minister appoints the Chairman and other members in consultation with the Chairman. When veterinary medicinal products are dealt with the Chief Veterinary Officer and a veterinarian appointed by the Minister attends. The Committee is appointed for a four-year term.

Current members of the committee are:


Sigurður B. Þorsteinsson, M.D. Infectious Disease Consultant

substitute Ástráður B. Hreiðarsson M.D

Other members of the committee:

Inga S. Þráinsdóttir, M.D.

substitute Kristján Erlendsson, M.D.

Brynjar Viðarsson, M.D. Hematology Consultant

substitute Guðmundur Oddsson, M.D.

Elín Soffía Ólafsdóttir, Professor in Pharmacy

substitute Sesselja Ómarsdóttir, Associate Professor in Pharmacy

Jakob L. Kristinsson, Associate Professor in Pharmacy

substitute Þórdís Kristmundsdóttir, Professor in Pharmacy

Guðbjörg Þorvarðardóttir, Veterinarian

substitute Hanna María Arnþórsdóttir, Veterinarian

Sigurborg Daðadóttir, Chief Veterinary Officer

substitute Auður Lilja Arnþórsdóttir, Veterinarian